Hello world…this is my first blog post out in the wide, wide blogosphere.

It’s the beginning of a new year, but not just a calendar year for me. My goal, if attainable, is to graduate with my PhD in Physics before the end of 2011. Maybe I will need some more time, but I think it’s good to have a goal for which to strive.

One of the main purposes of this blog is to share my experience with you. In a way, letting you know my progress will hold me accountable to actually have something to tell you! My friend has a sign over his desk that reads, “what have you done to graduate today?” In a way this is similar; I can come here and share the progress I am making, which should be motivating to do more. I can also share my work with you, hopefully in a way anyone can understand without being too technical. I might also throw in some other interesting science and physics tidbits that I come across so we can all share in learning about this fascinating world around us.

I also think it would be nice to share some of my “real” life as well. I am definitely not big on thinking about work all the time; in fact, I truly believe that my life outside of work is the most important thing, and I would love to share some of that with you as well. Some of my extracurricular activities include a husband, a dog, knitting, sewing, church, reading, cooking, and sitting on the couch. Something for everyone, right?

Well, as far as being productive goes, I am indeed spending time posting to this new blog instead of going to the lab and working on something useful, so I’ll leave it at this for now. I look forward to sharing with you this year, and let’s hope we get to have a party on Commencement Day, December 16, 2011!

